International Neuroendocrine Federation (INF)

Some important dates and elections

The INF was founded in June 2000 at the Council Meeting of the International Society of Neuroendocrinology (ISN) in Toronto (at the time, Dionysia Theodosis was President, and Sergio Ojeda was Secretary/Treasurer of ISN).  At this meeting, the ISN was dissolved, and the International Neuroendocrine Federation (INF) formed, with Dionysia Theodosis (Acting President), John A Russell (Acting Secretary) and Tony M Plant (Acting Treasurer) as the Acting Officers.

At the INF Council Meeting held at the 5th ICN (Bristol 2002) the following were elected:

John Russell (President); Tony Plant (Secretary General); Tony Plant (Treasurer, Pro Tem); Greti Aguilera was elected Treasurer in 2003.

At the INF Council Meeting Oct 2004 in San Diego, positions of Vice President, Vice Secretary General, and Vice Treasurer were approved.

June  2007: Inaugural Meeting of Strategic Action Committee Toronto.  Chair, John A Russell.

Sept 6, 2007: INF incorporated in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Bylaws adopted, and US Tax Exempt Status granted.


ICN meetings sponsored by INF

2002: 5th International Congress of Neuroendocrinology, Bristol, UK.  Chair LOC, Stafford Lightman

2006: 6th International Congress of Neuroendocrinology, Pittsburgh, USA. Chair LOC, Tony Plant

2010: 7th International Congress of Neuroendocrinology, Rouen, France.  Chair LOC, Hubert Vaudry

2014: 8th International Congress of Neuroendocrinology, Sydney, Australia.  Chair LOC, Dave Grattan


International Schools sponsored by INF

Sept 22-25, 2007: 1st International School of Neuroendocrinology, Seillac (France).  Convener, William Rostene

Aug 2-4, 2009: 2nd International School of Neuroendocrinology, Kitakyushu, Japan

Aug 13–19, 2011: 3rd International School of Neuroendocrinology, Brasil Convener, Janete Anselmo Franci


Meetings Supported by INF

Dec 13-15, 2006: 2nd Mediterranean Conference of the Neurosciences, Marrakech, Morocco. Convener, Mohamed Bennis

Aug 7-10, 2011: 1st US-Latin American Workshop in Neuroendocrinology, Vina del Mar, Chile.  Convener, Hernan Lara.


INF Officers


Acting President: Dionysia Theodosis (France) (formerly President, International Society of Neuroendocrinology)

Acting Secretary: John A Russell (UK)

Acting Treasurer: Tony M Plant (USA)

POC Chair for ICN 2002: Susan Wray (USA)



President: John A Russell (UK)

Secretary: General Tony M Plant (USA)

Treasurer (Pro-tem): Tony M Plant (USA) 2003

Treasurer: Greti Aguilera (USA) 2004-2006

POC Chair for IC 2006:  Iain Clarke (Australia)


2007-2010 (extended to 2011 by Council in 2008)

President: Tony M Plant (USA)

Secretary: General William Rostene (France)

Treasurer: Mitsuhiro Kawata (Japan)

POC Chair for ICN 2010:  Gareth Leng (UK)



President: Gareth Leng (UK)

Secretary: Janete Anselmo Franci (Brasil)

Treasurer: Susan Wray (USA)

POC Chair for ICN2014:  Quentin Pittman (Canada)



President: Bob Millar (South Africa)

Secretary: Yoichi Ueta (Japan)

Treasurer: William Armstrong (USA)

POC Chair for ICN2018:  Valerie Simonneaux (France)


Officers Elect 2020-2024

President: Vincent Prevot (France)

Secretary: Ai-Min Bao (China)

Treasurer: Sue Moenter (USA)

POC Chair for ICN2022: Suzanne Dickson (Sweden)